Group retreat 2013

From ICPWiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Monday, February 25th (departure around 8:45-9:00, in front of Hotel Commundo) - Wednesday, February 27th, 2013 (arrival around 17:00)


Waldhotel Zollernblick
Am Zollernblick 1
72250 Freudenstadt-Lauterbad
Tel.: 07441 - 950990

Important: Travel form

Before we start, you have to fill out and sign the Dienstreisegenehmigung (Travel form) and give it to Henriette!

Please fill out your travel forms based on the examples supplied here:

For those who will spend no extra costs for the trip and will not submit a reimbursement request: Fill out your travel form based on this example here

For those who will incur travel costs related to the group retreat: Please fill out your travel form based on this example - Please submit your travel cost statement for reimbursement soon after the trip.

Guest speakers: In addition to their regular travel forms in accordance with the guidelines of their institute/university, guest speakers will please fill out this reimbursement form

Preliminary program

Monday, February 26th
8:45: Departure at bus stop (turn loop) in front of Hotel Commundo
10:00: Arrival at Hotel Zollernblick
11:00: Public science talks: Christian Holm, Rudolf Hilfer, Axel Arnold, Maria Fyta, Jens Smiatek and Olaf Lenz
12:30: Lunch
14:15: Talk Markus Bier (MPI): Wetting phenomena in ionic fluids
15:00: Talk Karen Schmid (IWS): tba.
15:45: Coffee break
16:30: Talk Andreas Wohlfarth (MPI): Ionomers and Polyelectrolytes for Electrochemical Energy Conversion and Storage
17:15: Talk Kuno Kurzhals (VISUS): tba.
18:00: Dinner
19:00: Poster session

Tuesday, February 26th
8:00: Breakfast
8:30: Talk Peter Kosovan : Tracer diffusion in hydrogels
10:00: Coffee break
10:30: Talk Florian Fahrenberger
10:45: Talk Joost de Graaf
11:00: Talk Elena Minina
11:15: Talk Jose Rafael Bordin
11:30: Talk Kai Kratzer
11:45: Talk Dominic Roehm
12:00: Lunch
14:00: Social events
18:00: Dinner
19:30: Internal discussions: Improvement of structures

Wednesday, February 27th
8:00: Breakfast
9:00: Internal discussions: Improvement of structures (Bachelor & Diploma students, PhD students & Post-Docs, Group leaders and administrative staff)
10:30: Coffee break
11:00: Internal discussions: ESPResSo, Gromacs, discussions with external speakers and administrative staff
12:30: Lunch
14:00: Summary and closing words
15:00: Departure
~16:00-17:00: Arrival at ICP

The program is now open for discussion. Specifically the discussion topics may change. If you have any suggestions and hints, please contact Jens.


The following persons will give a short scientific talk (10 - 15 minutes, probably on Tuesday, 26th):

Internal Speakers:
1.) Florian Fahrenberger
2.) Joost de Graaf
3.) Elena Minina
4.) Jose Rafael Bordin
5.) Kai Kratzer
6.) Dominic Roehm

The group leaders will give an overview of their research (10 - 15 minutes, probably on Monday, 25th). It is intended to present the topics in a public science approach. Therefore all unimportant equations, scientific experessions without explanation and too many details should be avoided.

Senior Speakers:
1.) Christian Holm
2.) Rudolf Hilfer
3.) Axel Arnold
4.) Maria Fyta
5.) Jens Smiatek
6.) Olaf Lenz

Furthermore we will have a group of external speakers. They will give their talks on Monday, 25th and on Tuesday, 26th.

External Speakers:
1.) Markus Bier (MPI)
2.) Karen Schmid (IWS)
3.) Andreas Wohlfarth (MPI)
4.) Kuno Kurzhals (VISUS)
5.) Peter Kosovan (Prague)


We have ordered 15 poster walls (30 posters can be presented). Therefore all diploma-, PhD students and post-docs should present their work with a poster (DIN A0, width 85 cm, height 120 cm)


We have reserved three rooms for talks and discussions (a large room for the talks and posters, a smaller room and the lobby for discussions).

Social event

On Tuesday afternoon (February 26th) it is planned to have a social program.

  • Visit of Experimenta in Freudenstadt and/or city tour
  • Hiking (several options)
  • Skiing (there is a hill with lift in close vicinity to the hotel)

If you have further suggestions or questions, please contact Jens.

Room plan

We have reserved 12 single rooms and 21 double rooms. If you have any comments, confirmations etc., please contact Jens until February, 11th.

Single rooms
1.) Christian Holm
2.) Rudolf Hilfer
3.) Maria Fyta
4.) Olaf Lenz
5.) Frank Huber
6.) Jens Smiatek
7.) Henriette Patzelt
8.) Elena Minina
9.) Andreas Wohlfarth (MPI)
10.) Kuno Kurzhals (VISUS)
11.) Silke Schade
12.) Joan J. Cerda (to be confirmed)

Double rooms
1.) Axel Arnold & Nadezhda Gribova & daughter
2.) Zhenli Xu & Jose Rafael Bordin
3.) Shervin Raafatnia & Florian Dommert
4.) Florian Fahrenberger & Stefan Kesselheim
5.) Ganesh Sivaraman & Bibek Adhikari
6.) Christoph Wolber & Joost De Graaf
7.) Owen Hickey & Georg Rempfer
8.) Pedro Sanchez & Patrick Kreissl
9.) Konrad Breitsprecher & Johannes Zeman
10.) Dominic Roehm & Tobias Richter
11.) Florian Weik & Kai Kratzer
12.) Peter Kosovan
13.) Julian Michalowsky & Jonas Landsgesell
14.) Kai Szuttor & Rudolf Weeber (both only one night)
15.) Karen Schmid (IWS) (one night)
16.) Markus Bier (MPI) (one night)
17.) Martin Kuron & Sascha Ehrhardt